Home > What we do > Campaigns > Public Choice Award 2018

Public Choice Award 2018

Who will get your vote in this year's Public Choice Award?

About the Award

Each year, North Yorkshire Police runs an annual awards ceremony to recognise police officers, police staff and volunteers who have shown outstanding courage, compassion or inspiration in the course of their duties.  We then invite you to decide which of the nine nominees you would like to select as the winner of the Public Choice Award.

The Public Choice Award holds a very special place in our hearts, because it is voted for by members of the public in North Yorkshire, and supported by the Police and Crime Commissioner, Julia Mulligan.  Every vote cast is a vote of appreciation for the work of police personnel, who often go above and beyond expectations in their efforts to keep people safe.

The final result of the Public Choice Award is not revealed until the very end of our Annual Awards ceremony* when the Commissioner announces the Award.  The winner receives a much coveted trophy and goes into our archive as your champion of the year.


The nominees

Police staff member Kim Wray
Detective Sergeant Angie Carey
Northallerton PCSO Angie Smith
PC Craig Davies and PC Richard O’Connell








Detective Sergeant Tracey Williams
Police Sergeant Amy Hunter
Police Constable Michael Barker
The Rural Taskforce at NYP








How to vote


On behalf of the Chief Constable and Police and Crime Commissioner, the nominees, and all of us here at North Yorkshire Police, thank you  for voting in the Public Choice Award.  It means a great deal to everyone who works at North Yorkshire Police to know that we have your confidence and support, and every vote is truly appreciated.   Remember to check back on this page on 22 October to find out who won!

North Yorkshire Police’s Annual Awards ceremony is made possible by the generous support of our sponsors:  Price Waterhouse Cooper Services, the Police Federation, UNISON, the National Association of Retired Police Officers, the High Sheriff of North Yorkshire, the Police Mutual Society;  and our supporters TecTRACER, PSL Print Management, Lewis & Cooper, Yorkshire Provender and Barkers.